Colin’s IT, Security and Working Life blog

July 21, 2009

Windows 7 is ace….. even if I’m not sure why!

Filed under: Uncategorized — chaplic @ 5:42 pm

 

Sometimes it requires doing something you don’t like to appreciate what you do.

I’ve never had much involvement with Vista. XP did the job for me, and certainly for a long time crucial security-related software I used wasn’t compatible.

My last laptop-but-one didn’t run vista smoothly enough, so I installed XP64 Bit, my current machine quickly had the manufacturers build wiped and 2008 Server installed (plus bluetooth hack, plus desktop experience of course) so that I could do some dev with Hyper-V.

However, I installed Windows 7 pretty much as soon as the RC came out and never really looked back (apart from when I want to run Hyper-V VMs!). It’s never really annoyed me which is possibly the biggest compliment I can pay it!

My wife just got herself a new laptop which comes with Vista, and of course as the resident techie, I get the job of setting it up right.

Oh My goodness.

Despite the fact that the machine is basically built, the OOBE basically seemed to take as long as the bare-metal install of Windows 7.  For the first time in a while when using a machine if felt sluggish – despite being a middle/top of the range machine.

Clicking on control panel, wait… programs…wait. And then, of course there is the great-idea-now-implement-it-properly UAC. And, despite the machine having a fairly spanky “real” graphics card, the in depth “performance testing” vista done decided we couldn’t get any of the pretty UI!

Comparing the two OSes side-by-side does not do justice to how much better W7 is (or, how poor Vista is?). It’s like comparing a BMW 318d to an M3 – comparable architectures, shared heritage and they both do the same job. But I know which one I want.

My wife is not as bleeding edge as me, so the acid test will be how long she can put up with vista… will W7 make it past RC before I’m installing it ! ?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

